Creative MIDI in Max and Max For Live 4 part series - LIVE Session

Thinkific


£59.90




Share this product


Date & Time: Thursdays 6th May, 13th May, 20th May & 27th May 6pm UK, 7pm Berlin, 10am LA, 1pm NYC

Level: Intermediate

Cycling 74’s Max / MSP and Max For Live offers a vast playground of programming opportunities to create and deploy unique MIDI based devices. In this workshop you will build your own MIDI note step sequencers, use random number generators to drive MIDI systems, build a MIDI Looper device, map hardware controllers to parameters via MIDI and develop a MIDI CC sequencer for creative applications. This workshop aims to provide you with suitable skills to explore the creative possibilities of MIDI in the Max MSP and Max For Live environment.

Session Learning Outcomes

By the end of this session a successful student will be able to:

  • Build MIDI note step sequencers

  • Utilise random number generators for creative MIDI applications

  • Construct a MIDI looping device and assign MIDI hardware controllers to parameters

  • Develop MIDI control change message sequencers for creative automation

Session Study Topics

  • MIDI Note Sequencers

  • Random Number Generators

  • MIDI Looper and MIDI Mapping

  • MIDI CC Sequencers

Requirements

  • A computer and internet connection

  • A web cam and mic

  • A Zoom account

  • Access to a copy of Max 8 (i.e. trial or full license) or Live Suite with M4L

About the workshop leader 

Johan Englund is a music producer based in St Leonards East Sussex and an educator for Tileyard Education (London) and Bimm (London). He has been engaged as a professional in the music industry since the early 1999